Facts and Figures

Mykolas Romeris University is a modern and dynamic European university with a creative and efficient research and academic community. From the fall of 2015, the Social Innovations Laboratory network, MRU LAB, has been established. It unites 19 research laboratories on campus.

During the 2017/2018 academic year, the University enrolled 8700 students. About 170 doctoral students study in the fields of law, management and administration and Psychology.

The University offers over 100 study programmes (Bachelor's Degree, Master's Degree, also non-degree).  Presently most of the study programmes have international external evaluation.

Studies and research are carried out in the following fields: Law, Public Administration, Economics, Finance Management, Psychology, Social Work, Social Policy, Sociology, Educology.

MRU is comprised of the following Institutes and Faculties: Faculty of Law, Faculty of Economics and Business, Faculty of Public Governance, Faculty of Public Security. Institute of Communication, Institute of Humanities, Institute of Educational Sciences and Social Work and the Institute of Psychology.    

Mykolas Romeris University cooperates with over 200 international institutions including universities, public and management institutions.

MRU fosters research and innovation: fundamental and applied research are carried out, national and international research programmes and projects undertaken, as well as academic and mobility events are organized. MRU research is carried out within the framework of interdisciplinary priority research area, Social Innovations for Global Growth and 5 research programmes: 

  • Justice, Security and Human Rights;
  • Social Technologies;
  • Sustainable Growth in the Context of Globalization;
  • Improving the Quality of Life and Advancing Employment Opportunities;
  • Continuity and Change of Values in Global Society.

On  September 16, 2003, the University joined the ranks of signatories of Magna Charta Universitatum together with other progressive universities which have achieved significant achievements in their activities.

Mykolas Romeris University has conferred the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to the following esteemed persons: Mr. Valdas Adamkus, H.E. President of the Republic of Lithuania, Prof. Vytautas Landsbergis, President of the Supreme Council of the Republic of Lithuania, Prof. Dr. Rainer Schulte, former President of Münster Police Administration Academy, Prof. Dr. Hab. Zdzislaw Kegel, former Dean of the Faculty of Law, Administration and Economics of Wroclaw University, Prof. Luzius Wildhaber, former President of the European Court of Human Rights, Prof. Pranas Kūris, former Judge at the European Court of Human Rights, Mr. Günter Verheugen, European Commissioner,  Prof. Dr. Norbert Thom, Director of the Institute for Organisation and Human Resource Management at the University of Bern,  Prof. Dr. Goolam Mohamedbhai, President of International Association of Universities, Mr. Bronisław Komorowski, Marshal of the Sejm of the Republic of Poland, Ohio University philosopher and Prof. Algis Mickūnas, University of Bologna Rector Prof. Ivano Dionigi, Wroclaw University Rector Prof. Marek Bojarski, Korea's Dongseo (DSU) University President Prof. Jekuk Chang and IAE Executive Director and former MRU Council member Eva Egron-Polak.

Following the Resolution of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania No. IX-2515 of 28 October 2004 “On the Reorganization of the Law University of Lithuania and the approval of the Status of Mykolas Romeris University”, the Law University of Lithuania was reorganized into Mykolas Romeris University.

Current Chairman of Mykolas Romeris University's Senate is Prof. Vainius Smalskys. Senate Vice-Chairman is Prof. Irena Žemaitaitytė.

From 2015, the MRU Rector is Assoc. Prof. Dr. Algirdas Monkevičius. Rectorate members include the following: Assoc. Prof. Saulius Spurga, MRU Chancellor; Prof. Dr. Inga Žalėnienė, Vice-Rector for Education and Research; Vladas Brakauskas, Vice-Rector for Infrastructure; Prof. Gintaras Černius, Dean; Assoc. Prof. Dr. Virginijus Valentinavičius, Director, Institute of Communication; Prof. Lyra Jakulevičienė, Dean of the Faculty of Law; Prof. Saulius Greičius, Dean of the Faculty of Public Security;  Prof. Vainius Smalskys, Dean of Faculty of Public Governance; Prof. Valdonė Indrašienė, Director, Institute of Educational Sciences and Social Work; Assoc. Prof. Antanas Valantinas, Director, Institute of Psychology; Assoc. Prof. Liudmila Mockienė, Director, Institute of Humanities, Prof. Eglė Bilevičiūtė, Trade Union Chairman; Saulius Bugailiškis, Head of Communication and Marketing Dept.; Julius Dautartas, Advisor to the Rector and MRU Theatre Director; Aušra Šarėjūtė, Chief Financial Officer; and Gabrielė Lesnickaitė, President of MRU Student Body.

Current Chairman of the 9-member MRU Council is Roma Žakaitienė, Director of the Association of Local Authorities in Lithuania.

The University has a Francophone Studies Centre, and an Asian Centre, responsible for forstering ties with China, India, Japan, and Korea. The King Sejong Institute has been established allowing MRU students to study Korean language and attend lectures about Korea's history, politics and culture. 

  • Ateities st. 20, LT-08303 Vilnius, Lithuania
  • Editor: Snieguolė Zalatorė
  • Tel.: (+370 5) 271 4739
  • E-mail: snieguole@mruni.eu
  • www.mruni.eu
  • Company VAT code: LT119517219.