News and Events

2020-05-20 00:00:02

New Faculties Established at MRU

mru-veliavos May 14th, 2020, the Council of Mykolas Romeris University passed a Resolution changing the organizational structure at the University. There will be 4 new MRU Faculties: the Law School, the Faculty of Public Governance and Business, the Faculty of Human and Social Studies and the Public Security Academy. The reorganization of June 30th has been approved by the Senate of Mykolas Romeris University. The Resolution goes into effect from July 2nd, 2020.

Currently there are 8 academic units at the University: 4 Faculties and 4 independent Institutes.

The changes were made seeking to optimize the University’s organizational structure, to ensure more efficient management and to more effectively distribute working managers. Such an organizational structure is more in line with the current size of the University. The new academic units are formed evaluating the quantitative and qualitative indicators of students and academic personnel, the income structure, compatibility of study fields, well-established cooperation of departments in preparation for the upcoming studies field and institutional evaluation.

The Faculty of Public Governance and the Faculty of Economics and Business will merge into the Faculty of Public Governance and Business. The following Public Governance Faculty Institutes will be transferred to the new Faculty: the Institute of Political Sciences, the Institute of Leadership and Strategic Management and the Institute of Public Administration. In addition, the new Faculty will include the newly-established Institute of Business and Economics (established on the basis of the current Faculty of Economics and Business, which didn’t have its internal structure) and the Students Department, which was created merging the existing Student units of the Faculty of Public Governance and the Faculty of Economics and Business.

The Faculty of Human and Social Studies will unite the existing Institute of Educational Sciences and Social Work, the Institute of Humanities, the Institute of Communication and the Institute of Psychology (together with the Psychological Service and the Psychology Laboratory changing the name to the „Center of Experimental Psychology”). A Students Department will be established within the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, where Faculty managers will work reporting to the Vice-Dean for Studies in accordance with the normal Order of the University. Up to now, independent Institutes did not have Student Departments.

In 2018, the MRU Faculty of Law was renamed the “Mykolas Romeris Law School“ anticipating a possible merger of universities and seeking to retain the name of Mykolas Romeris in the Faculty title. Currently this is no longer relevant since the Government of the Republic of Lithuania has halted the process of merging MRU with VGTU. That is why the new Faculty name is changed to “Law School.“

The structure of the Public Security Academy at this stage will not change.

Mykolas Romeris University Council Chairman Prof. Dr. Egidijus Jarašiūnas

We invite you to join a virtual meeting with the Mykolas Romeris University academic community during which you will hear more about the changes at the University. MRU Rector Prof. Dr. Inga Žalėnienė, Vice-Rector Prof. Dr. Regina Valutytė and Vice-Rector Assoc. Prof. Dr. Saulius Spurga will participate.

The meeting takes place on May 22nd (Friday), 14:00 hrs. You can link to the meeting via Microsoft Teams Meeting.